Painting Decorative Boxes

This past weekend my mother-in-law, Fran and I finally had a crafting day! It was so nice to have time to get together and spend some time creating art together. My father-in-law crafted some 6 inch by 6 inch boxes out of scrap wood for us to use. Fran had a lot of acrylic craft paint colors to choose from, and lots of different size brushes, so we were ready to go! I made one painting for our bathroom, and one for my daughter’s room. To make the text easier, I printed the verse in several of my favorite fonts so I had a reference to go off of. Then I used a T-square to find my middle point, and worked out from the middle to make sure my text was centered.
I lightly wrote in the text with pencil, and painted over it with a thin brush. It worked pretty well!
The key to a second coat with acrylic paint is to wait until the first coat is dry to add the second coat- otherwise it is a mess!
I am pleased with the way these turned out. I cant wait to hang them in our house. Have you ever created your own personalized art for your house?
It is a great way to personalize your home- no one else will have the same art!

20140325-152112.jpg

20140325-152120.jpg

20140325-152125.jpg

Leave a Reply

